The Beauty Around Me

I had a dinner party last week for my husband’s birthday.  Some family, some friends, and the usual, over the top, amazing spread of food.  Normally, for a group this size, I would put all the tables outside and enjoy dinner alfresco.  But on this occasion, the weather was threatening rain, and the winds were gradually picking up as the day went on.  I had to abandon all outdoor plans and move the party inside.  And, a loud, good time, was had by all.

After dinner, after dessert, we went outside into the back yard to relax and talk and take some pictures of the birthday MAN with the guests.  As I was getting ready to snap a shot, I realized that one of my little fruit trees was producing fruit! (Now, if only I could remember what kind of tree it was! Not sure if it is a peach or an apricot! I’ll just have to stay tuned to find out!)  Overnight, it seemed, my yard went from the dormant garden of sticks, to very welcome bursts of life and colors.  And, my red Japanese Maples just started to open their leaves, too!

Now, I was NOT gifted with my mother’s green thumb, so I am always a little bit amazed and proud of myself when plants end up being alive after winter.  And by proud of myself, I mean that when I wasn’t paying attention to them at all, my wonderful husband was out there still watering and caring for them every day. (Thanks, Honey! :)) No, my talent is more for growing and nurturing strong children, relationships, and happiness.

I wanted to take a brief moment to share with you some pictures of the new life around my home.  When you are done reading this and enjoying the pictures, take a moment to yourself and look around your own environment.  Has Spring arrived near you? Have you seen the finches nesting?  Are the Robin’s back in your area? Are the crocus peeking through the snow?

Spring is here.  Flowers are blooming everywhere.  Fruit is forming on my trees.  Birds are singing, and we are definitely getting those April Showers! I can’t wait to find out if I am getting apricots or peaches!  HAPPY SPRING!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment